A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Stealthy

I love this time of year when the yard is full of insects. It’s true that some are unwelcome pests but within our local ecosystem they’re tasty meals for something else • I was thrilled to notice this dragonfly “resting” on one of our winterberry bushes this morning. I was even more thrilled that it was still there when I returned with my camera. Several times it took off but it kept returning which was helpful for picture taking • Suddenly, it darted from one side of the bush to the other. With my lens extended I observed this female Widow Skimmer munching a fresh cabbage white butterfly • If you look closely you’ll see the body of the butterfly sticking out of the Skimmer’s mouth, and the butterfly’s wings discarded to the side • We have lots of these white butterflies in our garden because our broccoli and brussel sprout plants attract them. They lay their eggs and baby green worms (actually caterpillars) eat the plants until they’re fully grown. Thus, more cabbage white butterflies, and the cycle continues! • We are most grateful to the Widow Skimmer :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.