Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Hiding from the sun

A little tootle at 7:30 this morning alerted me to the fact that the greengrocer's small van-plus-trailer was outside the door, an hour earlier than expected. I assume he's avoiding the worst of the heat. It was wonderful to see French beans straight from the plant, loose, untrimmed and a little wrinkled as they must have been picked yesterday. In the last four years I've only seen those little sachets from Kenya, so I grabbed myself a couple of handfuls and another day I shall make some Greek fasolia, but tonight I shall try the wood-fired pizza van, which also parks right outside the door.
Mystère and I are both aware of the physiological changes that come when the air temperature is almost equal to blood temperature; we keep still, we eat little, we drink plenty and we don't venture outside.
I've spent some time today imagining pizza toppings and trying to recall the correct French words. The van has now arrived, I have popped outside to work out the protocol and see that it's easier than I had feared, pizzas are all à la carte and all one needs to do is understand the toppings and pick a named pizza from the list. Pizza is now ordered.

Really enjoyed a very short play today on Radio4 - “Everything is fine” on Short cuts – Series 31 – New forms

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.