Angel of the North

Newcastle Friday.

This morning we did the last bit of packing, tidied the house, groomed, cuddled and bade farewell to Minstrel before setting off on the long drive to Newcastle. We gave him a bowl of cat soup out of guilt at leaving him behind too!

I'd also called my Dad to check his appointment had gone OK and that he was going to be able to manage while we are away. Fortunately he has improved a bit and it is a pulled muscle. I'll give him a call Sunday just to check in.

It was a smooth trip, with a stop at a Ferrybridge services for lunch. They have a Pret á Manger now so I had a cheese baguette and iced chai latte from there. Delicious!! I'm glad Lincoln doesn't have one as I'd be skint all the time!

As you can see, we took a detour via the Angel of the North. Not too many people there this time, fortunately. Then it was straight to the hotel. The room is rather basic but the beds (yes, two singles rather than a double!) are comfy! I'm in mine typing this. The air con is loud but it is the type of white noise that aids sleep. The Wi-Fi is great! 

So far,so good!

I'm typing this on my tablet each day and will copy and paste to save time when back blipping.

Tonight we are going for a meal at the Slug and Lettuce. I booked a table earlier in the week after finding everywhere booked up last year. I plan to sink a cocktail or two also. I'd been involuntarily teetotal since having to work every weekend...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.