Buzzin'!!

The bee, photographed in the Arbo this afternoon when I got home from Metheringham, and virtually the whole country after England's victory at Wembley yesterday. I am delighted that they won also, but I would not have minded if Denmark had won. I like Denmark and I felt sorry for Caspar Schmeichel, son of my favourite ever professional player! 

I do have some concerns however! I'm worried that this success, especially if they go on to win will fuel the flames of this nationalistic fervour that seems to be sweeping the nation since Brexit. Booing other teams for singing their own national anthems or just for  having the ball can't be right. I cannot say I have noticed any other fans doing this... 

I'm not saying there is anything wrong with loving your country, fair enough. It's when it tips over into hating and assuming superiority to other countries that it starts to become a problem.

I went to see my Dad today of course, and he is still doing OK despite the tiredness which will no doubt take some time to fully get past. Grace fetched me home today. She offered to and I'm glad as it means I get to chat to her for a while!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.