Fat Hen

I've got a healthy crop of Fat Hen. I thought I was nurturing bee balm - that's what it said on the seed packet. It's quite funny and I don't really mind but the least this weedy plant (which hardly needs to be nurtured) can do is feed the finches with its seeds. I'll leave a plant to mature but most of them will have to go.

Covid making its presence felt but I have had worse flu (Dec 1999-Jan 2000 for instance). Extra: I'm not off my food. Hoping to be a bit brisker tomorrow which I am sure I will if I sleep tonight.

A lovely day - the temperature is in the high teens with a breeze. I'm drifting aimlessly between the house and the garden. Cameraman has gone off to help out with the girls who would have been here today if I'd not been stricken.

I listened to an interesting programme on the radio last night. The Long View - you can hear it via this link. It's about the way the Conservative party replaced its leaders in the past. The second part of the programme (early1960s) talked about the names I recall from childhood: 'RAB' Butler, Reggie Maudling, Quintin Hogg and of course the successfully anointed Home of the Hirsel. Election wasn't the way of course - all done in backroom conversations and shady deals. I wonder which is the better way? It's an unpleasant spectacle in 2022.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.