Brodiaea californica

I raised this plant from seed collected by a local wildflower expert in California around thirty years ago.   For many years it thrived in my Norfolk garden, planted out in a sunny, sandy raised bed.  I have relocated some seedlings raised from my own saved seed to a similar bed here in Wales and they seem just as happy so far.   In it's native habitat it would grow up through prairie grasses and other plants so it's a happy coincidence that this one has Californian Poppies as growing companions.  (The little blue flowers belong to a plant of similar habitats in South Africa.)

A work day at Aber cafe.   Not especially busy, the hot weather is rarely good for trade on the railway.   After work I cooked tea for Jamie and Katie and later Jamie and I took the dogs to the ball field for a run in the cool of the evening.   Jamie is stopping over at mine for a few nights while the weather is hot.  His flat, like all the others in the block, is always hot and in the forecast weather likely to be unbearably so.  I'll have a resident dog sitter while I am at work tomorrow :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.