Caterpillars of the large white butterfly

Another morning working in the pond area with Mark saying “I’ll just cut a bit off there”, while JJ and I cut up and moved the debris from the almost dry pond.  I say almost dry, but Mark and his small chainsaw headed out further than was sensible and sank about eighteen inches into the gloop.  JJ to the rescue with a scaffold plank and he managed to prise himself out, but left a trainer underground.  I chucked a stick over and he dug it out and put it back on.

Two and a half hours later and we really had had enough.  I called a halt to the “I’ll just cut a bit off…..” and we trudged home in the increasing heat.

JJ has dozed in front of the Tour de France on and off all afternoon, while I’ve composed a letter to the parish council to look at some of the potentially dangerous trees that skirt the pond.

The captive caterpillars are doing well (see my blip of 7th July) and eating vast quantities of nasturtium leaves.  Not sure how much bigger they’ll get before they pupate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.