Clazel

By Clazel

Glistening

What a beautiful day to be out on the river, slightly cloudy with a lovely warmth on the way out, and good and hot later! which I’m grateful for - it brings out the winged beauties. I’m still on the dragonfly trail and we see a lot of what I now know are brown hawkers - patrolling up and down stretches of river. We’ve seen them before but only in the air, and I’m finding that beyond my camera skills - even more so whilst also balancing in a canoe - and sometimes at the mercy of the wash of pleasure cruises! 
I’ve seen some incredibly beautiful insect blips recently, both inspiring and humbling at the same time - so much to learn! 
I stumbled across this link to Osuzanna’s insect tutorial - thank you!
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2993221384735294700
it will keep me going for a while - aspiring to an identifiable dragonfly in flight even if it’s not this year.
Today we do a return stretch from Aldwark Bridge to Linton locks, about 3 miles each way. Halfwayish there is a signpost on the bank - Ure to the left, Ouse to the right, no junction, nothing but the deep, wide and gently flowing river - but a change of name - an artificial human construct - it seemed bizarre …
This dragonfly ovipositing (thank you blip) is my favourite photo moment of the day, enjoyed a nice fly pass of a pair of kingfishers, and practicing my action shots on the herons.
Hope your weekend has been a good one

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.