a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Perched

Judging from the discard exuvia on the iris leaves we've had a few common darters emerge this year, although definitely not as many as last year.  This female common darter (Sympetrum striolatum), looks fairly mature to me from its colouration, so I don't think that it will have emerged that recently.  But as you can see from the state of the wings, it is still in excellent condition, so it hasn't been around that long either.

I might have had a go at trying to catch her in flight, but it was already so warm when I took this (30C) in the bright sunshine that I felt the desire to try for that shot diminishing with every minute that passed and I've settled for this pose instead.  

It never ceases to amaze me just how much more detailed these are in large.  I'm a big fan of Blip but I'd love the quality of the standard view to be increased a little if that were possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.