The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Where's Indie?

The curtains were closed because of the heat. Indie was nowhere to be seen. Just as I was leaving, I thought to check behind the curtains, and found that she'd discovered a warm foam kneeling pad to use as her bed. I imagined that most of her day passed in that fashion

I had an office to myself in the town surgery, but the windows opened over the waiting room's glass ceiling, and the phone would only work on speakerphone, so I had to close the windows, turn up the fan, and leave the door open. Even still, I literally stuck to my chair in the heat. Ice creams were provided.

I managed to set up and host a meeting on Teams (I've only used Zoom before)and have a couple of good conversations, but on the whole I couldn't wait to get home, even though I had to walk, uphill all the way, through an almost-deserted town. The temperature was 36 degrees at five-fifteen pm.

The rest of the evening? I've showered, had some soup and wafted around the house, which is cool after having the curtains closed all day, on both sides. I've got the fan running, and we are think of sleeping downstairs tonight, because it's so much cooler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.