AMK49

By AMK49

Memory lane

This street is certainly memory lane for me and the house in the blip is one I used to visit with my parents when I was a boy.

I was visiting the lovely little village of Limekilns with my friend R who is a genealogist now that he is retired and we were researching my grandmother’s family as she was born and brought up in this street where her father had a butcher’s business. The family had the 3 houses beside the shop and the first one in the blip is where we used to visit her sister.

Once we had explored the village which interested R greatly ( he is in the extras) we decided to see if we could find where one of my great grandfather’s relatives had lived near Clackmannan , found by R on a census in the 1800 s, and to our amazement we found the farm. We arrived in the farm yard and were immediately greeted by the farmer - we showed him the farm on a very old map and he summoned his elderly mother from the farm house. Chairs were produced, a jug of water and glasses arrived as it was extremely hot and we spent the next hour chatting with them. They were very interested that my great grandfather’s grandfather had owned the farm for at least 30 years in the mid 1800s. We parted with R promising to do more research for them on the history of the farm which they had bought in 1957.
R does a lot of family history research for people but it usually ends with him handing over a file of papers - he just loved the fact that we could follow it up and find a place mentioned in his research.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.