Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Phew what a scorcher! The weather people weren't wrong this time were they? We got up to 32 degrees inside the house  which was mighty unpleasant, and that was with the fan going most of the day. 

I spent an hour in the garden between 8.30 and 9.30 just sitting and watching the butterflies and other insects going about their business before the heat of the day arrived. It was just lovely. The lavender was full of bees and the achillea had tons of insects covering it too. I'm not sure what this one is - some sort of bee I assume, but I think it turned out quite nicely.  (Edit: according to Seek it is a Yellow-haired sunfly - a type of hoverfly). 

I heeded the government advice and stayed indoors with the doors and windows closed, doing very little and drinking lots of water. Who knew we needed them to tell us what to do in weather like this? ;)

The evening was spent liaising with the rest of the families about the double funeral next week - still lots to decide and sort out. with literally hundreds expected, it is going to be quite overwhelming I think. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.