The Secret Pollinator Garden

I was on my morning walk, heading past a local park called Autumn Meadow, and I was on a hunt for flowers when I spied these. I don't know why I never saw them before. Clearly, they've been growing here for a while! So in I went to investigate more closely.

Between the park and the recycle place on the hill above it is a strip of gorgeous wildflowers that someone has planted on purpose. There is monarda, aka bee balm, and a lovely selection of other plants I can't name. You can see the walking path behind the tiny garden in this shot.

My eye was drawn to the bumblebee who was waking up beneath the lavender monarda flower you see on the left. It was moving quite slowly and apparently hadn't had its first cup of coffee yet! But it was clearly having a love affair with that sweet bloom.

Here's a song for that fuzzybutt bumblebee: Savage Garden, with I Want You (also known to us as "that chicken cherry cola" song).  ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.