Bumblebee, in its Coat of Many Colors

We were at Greenwood Furnace to take in the cool waters, but first, I walked around the lake with my camera, looking for snakes. I had told my husband I was going looking for rattlers over at the little cemetery, but alas I did not find a single one.

No, instead, I came across a couple fishing, and they told me to watch out for snakes, as they had just seen a snake eating a FROG down by the water! Well, I was so excited! "That's EXACTLY what I'm here for!" I said.

"Why don't you tell me where to walk but don't let me step on it?!" I said to the lady, who carefully directed my feet where to go. (This is a little exercise called "How much do you trust a stranger?" LOL!)

Well, there WAS a snake, a water snake, but it was looking fat and slow, and the frog was already down its gullet, and all I got were a few shots before it crawled away. I just wish I'd been two minutes earlier, to see it open its mouth and eat that frog! (If I'd gotten the shot, you'd be looking at that snake's frog-fest right now!)

But I did come across a really splendid butterfly, something I hardly ever get to see: a pipevine swallowtail, or Battus philenor. You can tell it by those iridescent peacock blue shades on the underwings and the spotty blue jammies on its body.

The butterfly and a huge bumblebee were snacking along side by side, and when the bumble-butt photobombed my shot, I just went with it. So here is a photo of a bumblebee and a pipevine swallowtail having a lovely lunch date.

But doesn't it just look like that bee is wearing a coat of many colors? If I were its stylist, I'd recommend a small blue pillbox hat, and some classy heels in that very same shade! ROCK that look, bumble-fuzz!

The song can only be this one: Dolly Parton, with Coat of Many Colors.

P.S. I am posting this on the morning of the 20th of July, which is always a hard day for me, as it is the anniversary of my big sister Barb's passing. It is also typically one of the hottest days of the year, as it was on the year that she died. I remember Barb, I love her, I miss her, I celebrate her life, I try to be like her in all the ways that matter, and I thank her for this blue butterfly she sent me, for blue was her favorite color.  <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.