There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Where Sheep May Safely Graze

There are sheep at the other end of the road we live on, and I covet them every time we drive by. There are a few large black cows among them, but the sheep don't care. Sheep are very accepting that way. On this day, I was dropped off below the sheep, and I walked back up our road the scenic way.

There were three sheep in the field nearest me, two white and one dark. This sheep gave me a look that was pure sheep. It felt comforting, like a blanket or a soft, white cloud. This sheep is here to tell you that no matter what else happens, everything will be okay. One could imagine counting sheep like this one to go to sleep.

I wanted a lullaby or a hymn to go with my sheep shot, and I think this one will do. Since my tiny pink tunes box croaked and I bought a new (much bigger) one, I have access to much more of my extensive music collection. I listened to Girl Named Tom's Hits from the Road, and every song on it is good. Here is a tune to go with this sheep: From This Valley, by Girl Named Tom. Some of the lyrics appear below.

Oh, the desert dreams of a river
That will run down to the sea
Like my heart longs for an ocean
To wash down over me

Oh, won't you take me from this valley
To that mountain high above?
Oh, I will pray, pray, pray 'til I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one I love

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.