There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Kiss

"Now, since the invention of the kiss, there have been five kisses that were rated the most passionate, the most pure. This one left them all behind." - William Goldman, The Princess Bride.

Earlier this month, my father ended up in the emergency room, then the hospital. Since then, he and my mom have been facing some trying times. The weekend before last, I went and stayed with her. It was a real eye-opener.

There have been some ups and downs since then, and the situation has been fluid enough that I hope you'll pardon me if I don't share all of the excruciating details.

We, the family, are working in our parents' best interests; especially my younger sister Julie, on the scene, who has been managing the situation day by day. Our parents' safety, well-being, and happiness are paramount.

My husband and I had scheduled this day for a family visit. To be honest, I was somewhat worried about what sort of situation I'd find. But I resolved to make the best of it, whatever it might be; to try to be a bringer of love and light.

For the only medicine I have is love; and I believe in sprinkling that stuff liberally, everywhere. Love, the glitter of the joyous heart, the soup kitchen of the weary soul.

Julie and I had plotted and schemed in advance. It was sort of like The Parent Trap (starring Hayley Mills and Hayley Mills). Our parents are meant to be together. I was with Mom. She brought Dad. We met in the middle, and this was the scene of their happy reunion on this day: the kiss!

Folks, this is what a true, long, lasting, and lifetime love looks like! My soundtrack song for this passionate kiss between my 93-yr-old Dad and my 92-yr-old Mom, happily married since 1950, is this one: Mark Knopfler and Willy DeVille, with Storybook Story, from the film The Princess Bride.

He said, "Don't you know I love you oh, so much,
And lay my heart at the foot of your dress?"
She said, "Don't you know that storybook loves
Always have a happy ending?"

Then he swooped her up, just like in the books,
And on his stallion they rode away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.