Some Things Are Meant To Be

These are my parents. This is their love story.

My mother's 92nd birthday is coming up on Monday, and we decided to pay her a visit so that T. Tiger and I could give her birthday hugs and kisses. And so we did that, and the color show was amazing on the drive, and we ended up spending the afternoon sitting and chatting in their living room.

My mom and dad were doing very well on this day, and we had a lovely visit. There are things my mom can't remember anymore, things like our birthdays, which is concerning if you're one of the kids she birthed, but hey, we've still got our mom, so what if we have to sacrifice a few memories to keep her.

But there are things she DOES remember, and she told us, again, the story of how she and Dad were both marked for death, but how they both survived, against all odds, as children. She had diphtheria, and was quarantined, and lived. My father ended up in the hospital with spinal meningitis; three children had it, one ended up blind, one deaf, and then there was my dad, mercifully unscathed.

"We were meant to be together," she said. And I believed her. My parents were sitting on the love seat together holding hands, as they do, and I snapped a few pictures, including this one. Here's a piece of unsolicited advice: if you decide to get married, pick somebody who will still look at you this way after 72 years of wedded bliss!

Oh, and happy 92nd birthday, Mom!
May God bless and keep you always.

Our soundtrack song for these two love birds is this one: Martina McBride and Pat Benatar, with We Belong.

We belong to the light, we belong to the thunder
We belong to the sound of the words we've both fallen under
Whatever we deny or embrace for worse or for better
We belong, we belong, we belong together


Bonus: my parents' wedding portrait.  <3  <3  <3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.