Melting!

We slept fairly well with the fan on all night. Hoping for a cooler night tonight though.
Have kept the windows closed and all the shutters today as it was wicked hot. 
37.6 was the hottest temp I noticed in our back garden (sensor in full shade) but it could well have been higher a little earlier as I don't check the receiver constantly. 
The wind got up this afternoon which I was pleased about but it was a hot wind so not of any use in cooling things down! My son John, in Derby, said it was 39 C there and the wind was like someone holding a hot hairdryer in your face!
I had nipped out in the car this morning - wanted to see if I could have a little walk under tree cover - and besides, I was going stir-crazy. I parked up in shade at the country park, got out of the car and started to walk towards the trees, realised it was far too hot even in shade so back to the car! At least the aircon had cooled me off and I nipped into the bargain shops on my way home. Maltesers (my favourites) were on offer but I thought they'd be molten before I even got them in the car so had to miss out on the offer.
It's cooling down as I type but still unpleasant upstairs without the fan on. 
Extra photo of my car at the country park.
There have been some awful fires in the SE and even people's homes have gone up in flames. some roads have melted and some railway tracks have buckled. There have also been more deaths in water but also some rescues. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.