A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

All’s well that ends well.

I was up and off early. The 7.51am train to Leeds.
I’d checked that Cross Country trains were running before setting off and all looked fine.

Not a good start when we stopped in Shipley, less than half way there, for an electric outage which had turned all signals red! Only a 5 minute delay and then I was on the 9.11 am to Plymouth.
No seat booked of course ( ticket was for yesterday) but I had no problem getting a seat in the open coach. All good. Approaching Sheffield a message on the tannoy about no trains were running on the east coast line to London this morning and what the alternatives were. I was talking to Grace at the time so not really listening but then he said we might have to terminate in Derby!!

Basically there had been an electrical problem at Birmingham New Street, which I’d seen yesterday, but that had been fixed by 8.30am but all the West Midland trains which are electric were struck on the line in the way! 
The guy came down the carriage asking people if they had any questions, well apart from wondering what I was going to do in Derby, no. Basically just wait for another train I suppose.

He later announced he’d been told to make an unscheduled stop in Burton on Trent and then the usual Tamworth stop and on to Birmingham so it seemed like all would be OK. As we were to be the first train through Birmingham it was likely to be horrendously busy.

Well we went through, it wasn’t that busy (seat to myself) and we arrived in Bristol only 25 minutes late, not a bad result - almost miraculous - considering all the heat generated chaos.

Met Grace and Eda in a cafe in Bath, Eda came running out to give me a big hug which was lovely. John was there too as a surprise for Eda, he works in the centre of Bath. 

Lots of caps and gowns around in Bath, obviously graduation day today. After a bit of a look around the shops and a walk up to the Circus, Eda and I got the bus back to Bailbrook and Grace brought my case, which John had taken, back on the electric bike.

Later Jude was picked up from nursery and she also came running in to give me a hug. Wonderful!

All the travails of travel are worthwhile for such special moments.

Sadly Jude was a bit out of sorts over her supper and was sick later. She was much brighter afterwards so hopefully now fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.