Falkirk

A good day began when I woke at 03:00 and realised that the men's 1500m final at the World Athletics Championships was on in 30 minutes. Regardless of the competitors, it's one of the iconic events, but I was particularly pleased to see Jake Wightman's unexpected win unfold before my eyes. I got back to sleep OK - after the 400m hurdles!

Django's first walk was dull, and afterwards I got back to work on a short article I'd been invited to write for a book on "More UK Success Stories in Industrial Mathematics". It was fun to do, as there's a good story to be told about our optimal food formulation case study.

At the end of the afternoon, the weather was clear and sunny - and rather cooler than yesterday - so I gave Django a quick walk before driving over to Bonnyrigg. There I watched what turned out to be a very entertaining Scottish League Cup match between Bonnyrigg Rose and Falkirk. Falkirk were dominant initially, and when they scored after 9 minutes (pictured) I was bracing myself for a dull evening. However, Bonnyrigg equalised with a penalty just before half time. In the second half both sides were looking to win the game, but chances were missed and it finished 1-1. Then, bizarrely, for a competition whose first stage has eight leagues of five, a penalty shoot-out took place. Falkirk won it 4-2, so they took 2 points from the game to Rose's 1. It was such a fine evening for watching outdoor sport, and the atmosphere in the ground was excellent.

Back home, I gave Django another brief walk, picking up the last two of the five Penicuik Turf zones that local amateur Turfer "BawsZoneFire" had taken from me earlier in the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.