pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Two over

I awoke feeling rather low this morning.

It’s been the first time in a long while that it has happened, and as the early part of the morning wore on, I realised exactly why I was feeling the way I did. 

It was because on the very first day of the summer holidays, I was having to take my children straight back into school for “Holiday Club”. Whilst there were quite a few other children in there, I still felt incredibly guilty that they had to go in and angry too at the unwanted reminder of past long-since broken agreements that were put in place to ensure that this didn’t have to happen. It sucks. No one should have to go back to the very same place they are supposed to be having a break from.

Fortunately, between me, the ex and her parents, we are able to keep the number of days they go in over the holidays to a bare minimum, but it still makes me feel miserable. Worse things happen at sea, I guess and I’m sure they’ll have fun and make a few friends.

Distractions from the guilt came in the form of the resignation of our company MD (I was two months out in my estimation of the longevity of his tenure - two years, tops), news from an excited Lady V that her business had been awarded ‘Branch of the Month’ and the knowledge that a round of golf with my father awaited at the picturesque Windermere Golf Club. 

We teed off around 5.30 and pretty much had the course to ourselves. My rustiness and lack of timing showed on the front nine, but I was only two over on the back with a putt for eagle at one point! Father started well, but faded towards the end. Regardless, it was nice to spend some time together and playing a beautiful course.

This was the view looking back towards the hills as we finished up on the 18th hole.


P.S. Thank you for all your kind words and comments on yesterday’s blip. I’m going to try and break with tradition to not make a complete hash of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.