A day in the life

By Shelling

Summer show

Bit of a weird day. The hottest day of the summer, so far. There is an old heat record from 1940 something of 38 degrees. That record might be beaten today, I don't know yet.

At half past twelve I arrived at our concert-venue in Hycklinge church, 190 km  drive from where I live. Bengt and me were contracted to do an hours concert in the church, performing our Evert Taube concert.When I wrote it into my calendar in March, who could think it would be the warmest day. The whole thing felt uncertain, there was news on the radio of many concerts being cancelled because of the heat. We hadn't cancelled but would anyone get out of their AirConditioned homes to come to our concert? 50 people did and we had a good time together in the church, the organisers were grateful for what we did. It was supposed to have been a concert with some priest-stuff at the end but the priest had forgotten all about it so we did the concert without the blessing of Jesus, which was Ok anyway.

The driving was a pain though. five hours there and back, they didn't pay for the cost of driving and they had the concert cheaper than our usual rate to begin with. Sometimes you just have to accept an underpaid gig rather than to say no, because you never know what a concert might lead to. 

The churchwarden took some pictures when we played, not very sharp but I liked the dynamics in the photo.

It's been a long day, starting from home by ten in the morning and got home at eleven at night. Now, I have to get some sleep because I've got a new long drive tomorrow afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.