A day in the life

By Shelling

21:10

A magical evening after what might have been the warmest day of the summer as yet. Tomorrow is going to be even warmer with temperatures way over 30 degrees.

I was invited for a morning coffee at the old friends  where I used to live. So nice to have a connection with good friends for a coffee, barbecue or film evenings and so on. I'm the latest member of the group and I'm so grateful to have this group of friends close by. It takes a long times to get old friends and I'm working on it.

Since march I borrowed an UltraViolet lamp from the hospital, to treat my psoriasis on my hands. It hasn't helped much, or not at all, so I gave it back to the hospital today . Treating psoriasis isn't easy, it comes and goes but never go away completely. I treat it with hand cream, with or without cortisone, which is supposed to calm the skin down. I'm still looking for the right balance of different creams to keep the psoriasis on a reasonably low level and will probably keep on doing that for the rest of my life.

As I said, we've had a "magical" evening (stupid expression but I couldn't find a better word). 20 degrees warm and not a leaf is moving in the still evening. Every sound is amplified, motorcycles are heard for miles, the traffic from the bridge to the island shapes a faint background noise that you only hear once you've notice it. Theres music coming from a party somewhere but it's rather easy to put the low noises in the background and not register it. Instead I choose to hear the cows slowly moving up the hill, a bird flying by, the neighbour opening a window, friendly sounds that help to create a safe and familiar atmosphere. Maybe the magic is that it's possible to manipulate the brain into hearing the sounds I want to hear without being disturbed by worldly noise.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.