I've been done!

We left Edinburgh this morning and detoured past Dobbies garden centre near Stirling. I knew they had greenhouse shading in stock 'cos I checked on the website - 'Low availability'. They had four - now they have three! 

I couldn't resist buying a small fern which I didn't have! Pellaea rotundifolia. It's reasonably hardy, but will need a warm spot. I forgot to mention that I bought a plant on Wednesday at the Dobbies who didn't know what greenhouse shading was! I thought Callistemon laevis, a bottlebrush from Australia of which I'd never heard, was an amazing bargain, reduced from £19.99 to £5.99, though it seemed quite OK to me. I've just looked it up - I've been done! It's a different name for Callistemon citrinus, of which I already have two, plus three rooted cuttings! What is even worse is that those half-baked taxonomists who have nothing better to do have now decided that Callistemon is the same as Melaleuca ! Before long I'm going to have to resort to 'Green plant', Flowering plant' and 'Plant' - at least there'll be no further confusion!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.