A possible exception

Dull and cool today - starting to rain now around 3.45 so I've given up the gardening and come inside.

Went down town this morning to the library, but no obvious Blips stepped up to the mark. This is somewhat of an Emergency Blip, though in reality that's probably just a Blip by any other name, if we go by the definition of a Blip as 'what happened today'!

So what happened today? As I was coming in to get out of the rain I noticed this tray of petunias, waiting to be included in a pot by the door. I never buy petunias - except the one time many years ago when I bought a packet of some small-flowered petunia species from Chiltern Seeds. I just don't like the average hybrids which are so very popular, but I was rather taken with this variety, 'Fiesta' apparently, which I saw in Homebase the other day. So there's always an exception to the rule. I can imagine that others might hate it!

The only plant to be planted today - is there another word for putting plants into a hole in the ground? - was a presumably self-sown potful of the native Black Medic, Medicago lupulina, which had grown to some 18" across. There was no sign of anything else in the pot so I took the medic down to a new home (avoiding the word 'planting!) on top of the wall by the roadside. Quite an attractive little thing with trifoliate leave and tiny yellow flowers, somewhat resembling a miniature clover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.