Another lovely shrub

A dull and drizzly day today. I've spent quite a bit of time indoors writing this morning so really must get out - it seems to be dry at the moment.

I don’t think I’ve Blipped this shrub before. It’s Indigofera amblyantha, a native of the Himalayas and China, introduced to cultivation in 1908 by William Purdom. It has a long summer flowering season - mine has been in flower for a few weeks already and will continue, I hope, for a long while yet. Its soft pink flowers and pinnate leaves are very attractive - I don’t know why it’s not grown more often. This one was a gift from a friendly garden centre owner a few years back.

I grew a couple of other Indigofera species at Arduaine - some are less hardy but this one seems OK. The dye indigo was once produced from some of the species.

Off to do a bit of gardening now, before the rain begins again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.