Day 11 Tour of the Lakes

I didn't want to do the walk this morning, Ambleside to Patterdale, and planned to catch buses to Windermere and then onwards. I had time to walk round the Booth's at Windermere Station  - oh I do wish that there was one in Derby, I love that shop! I bought a paper, two boxes of Clipper teas that are difficult to find at home and a sandwich for tomorrow's train journey. I know I've got to carry them but I've got room. 

The bus reached the top of the Kirkstone Pass and I thought, "Get off and walk Jan!" so I did. Thank goodness there's a permissive path all the way down to Patterdale, as I didn't know that before I got off the bus and looked at the OS. Nice walk. I was able to leave my bag at the B&B on my way past, then carried on to the White Lion and a pot of tea. 

Jean and Sylvia arrived very quickly after me, so I was able to give Jean the money I owe her (in full and final payment - although I didn't say that). 

Summary of the problems:- 

When we five walked hut to hut in the Austrian Alps in 2019 I really enjoyed the walking and the scenery, the huts not so much. When we booked again I was keen to go, having forgotten about the huts and also about how trying it is to be with the same people 24/7 for three weeks. 

This tour of the Lakes was intended to be a trial for Austria, ie packing super light, walking day after day. But it reminded several of us of how we like and need our own space, and that even when you have hardly any belongings with you it's nice to have space to unpack, view and use those things. 

Sylvia talked about not doing Austria, Jean actually told us all that she definitely wasn't going and over the course of a day or two I decided that I definitely didn't want to go. 

All well and good except that I'd made a booking for hotel and three weeks parking at Gatwick for Jean and I. Since she wasn't going and neither was I, I cancelled the booking and was refunded. Jean then began complaining that I shouldn't have done that as she wanted to go to Austria after all. Too bad, she'd have to make her own arrangements! She began demanding her share of the refund immediately, which was impossible with a lousy signal and my inability to add her as a payee without my cardreader, which was at home. Today I found a cash machine in Ambleside, so debt discharged. 

Jean has also been extremely rude to Elizabeth, shouting at her in the hostel dining room to the extent that the Warden stepped in and had a word. Then in the early morning Jean shouted at Nuala for snoring! I'm afraid the rest of us just cowered silently - when a tantrum happens there's no point in encouraging it. There were other bits of nastiness, no point in listing it all. 

This morning at breakfast Jean said she was apologising to Elizabeth, to Nuala and to me, but she was just making excuses for her behaviour so I'm afraid we didn't accept it and Elizabeth asked her to sit elsewhere. 

Extra: seen in Ambleside :-)

7.17 miles
248 ft elevation gain, but mostly descent!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.