Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Rescue watering

We may have missed the worst of the heat whilst in Ireland, but the garden to which we returned is definitely showing ill effects.  The yellow magnolia in this photo was planted in 2015, so has had plenty of time to get good roots - but is showing lots of brown leaves.  Our Dawn Redwood, planted in 2017, and which has grown a lot in the last 5 years is also wilting.  

W watered the trees in our "woodland area" yesterday evening.  And this evening he has the sprinkler going nearer the house.

This evening I was browsing Facebook and came across a link to this video from George Monbiot, which really shocked me.  I have always been a carnivore, but W is largely vegetarian, so we eat vegetarian and fish at home.  But when I get our supermarket shopping I nearly always buy myself a "meaty treat", and when we go out for a meal, I do tend to buy a meat dish.  We have converted to plant milk recently at home.  From now on, I will be much less likely to buy meat - though I may find it difficult to abstain completely.  It may, as Arachne thinks, be all too late.  But we have to try.  Otherwise, what will I say to my grandchildren in 10 years time?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.