Abernethy Round Tower.

Dating from the 11th century, this Irish style  tower is one of only two such towers surviving in Scotland—the other is at Brechin.  It was here Malcolm III of Scotland paid homage to William the Conqueror some six years after the Battle of Hastings.  
A good week on the whole.  Shopped in M&S on Sunday with no ill effects and bought the  freshly baked croissant I’d been craving for weeks.  My e-mail vanished on Monday so spent a lot of time restoring it but also did some housework so that, by the end of the week the house was spruce. Overdid things on Tuesday.  I’d been gradually emptying my plastic garden storage but then kept going till it was empty in spite of the heat.  Andy must have noticed as he appeared and demolished it which led to me moving all the bins and ending up on the sofa with a sore back and far too hot.  Wednesday and Thursday were cooler and more sensible.  Quite a lot of weeding has been done and today I’ve overdone things again howking out the poppies which are nearly finished and then going off to Jamesfield near Abernethy.  Bought some plants at their garden centre, had  a double espresso and a fruit slice in their cafe then came home with a bottle of wine. Last night I slept the whole night in my bed for the first time so, although things are still painful they are definitely on the mend and normal service is being resumed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.