This is the day

By wrencottage

Shrinking Violet

I went to our 9.30 church service this morning, having not been for a very long time. I normally stay at home with my husband because his ill health prevents him from going, and we watch a live stream together. However, he is making some good progress now and although he still can’t get there himself, he was keen for me to go because there is no live streaming now for the rest of the summer while the technical team take a break. I was very warmly welcomed by all my friends and felt very emotional to be back. 

I’m pleased to report that all my three sons are currently at a happy place in their lives – one is looking forward to a relaxed and enjoyable summer, knowing his daughter will be staying in this country and not moving abroad, one is away on holiday with his family in Devon having a wonderful break, and the youngest (who will be 37 on Tuesday!) is home with us and re-connecting with all his old school friends as though he’s never been away. For this reason I too feel very happy, and although Smithers and I aren’t able to go away, I feel as though I am on holiday at home! So I’ve been dressmaking today, humming the while, and hopefully will have a pale blue chambray summer dress to show for it soon. 

I’ve also done a bit more knitting, which is the subject of my photograph. I made this knitting bag about fourteen years ago, out of jumbo wool on very big needles, and I then boiled it to felt it. (I’ve put a photo in extras of how it looked before it was shrunk.)

P.S. Isn’t ‘shrunk’ a funny word!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.