This is the day

By wrencottage

The Hons' Cupboard

Yesterday, my plan for today was to continue making my dress. Sadly, I omitted to take into account the necessary household duties which presented themselves to me straight after breakfast. Namely, stripping our bed, turning the zip-linked mattresses, changing the bed linen and then doing the ensuing laundry.

That, and going for our first two-mile walk in a couple of weeks, not to mention making a birthday card for our youngest for tomorrow and watering the garden, put paid to any thought of dressmaking. By the time I’d ironed the bed linen and put it in the airing cupboard late this afternoon I was done for. And I didn’t have a blip ready either, because the one photo I took on our walk (of some newly-emerging acorns) was seriously lacking in colour and interest of any kind.

However, my frequent trips to the airing cupboard today did actually come to my rescue because they reminded me of one of the books on my bookshelves – "The Pursuit of Love" by Nancy Mitford – in which the titled protagonists enjoy meeting in the "Hons’ Cupboard" (a disused walk-in airing cupboard used as a meeting room by the young people who live at the stately pile called Alconleigh). If you haven’t read the book, please just humour me. 

We did start to watch the 2021 TV mini series recently, which starred Lily James as Linda Radlett, but we gave up half way through the first episode. Smithers didn’t understand what was going on because everyone spoke so fast, and although I knew what was supposed to be going on, I much preferred the book. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.