California Vacation ...

... day 6.

Today is our last full day here before returning home on Monday.  At least we don’t have an early morning flight … but we will be getting back to Newark quite late.  There has to be trade off. I like to book direct flights whenever possible and when I booked this trip there weren’t many direct flight choices.  It was either early morning or late afternoon/evening.
 
With today being Mother’s Day here in the States we have plans to go out to my sister’s house in Ramona.  She lives about 40-45 minutes from my mom.  We weren’t scheduled to be at Bev’s until 1:00 so this gave Richard and me time to return to Double Peaks Park for another visit there.  We were there for just under an hour before making a quick stop at the grocery store to buy a small cake to take to Bev’s.  My sister is having a milestone birthday later this month and my mom thought it would be nice to surprise her today.
 
We made it to Bev’s shortly before 1:00 pm and had a wonderful visit with everyone.  My niece also came so it was real celebration. 
 
At one point during the day we went outside to look at their new trailer.  That’s when Richard was watching this Anna’s Hummingbird in their yard.  She kept flying into a particular tree and as he continued to watch she would fly to the same spot over and over again.  He investigated closer and found she was building a nest!  Now in all the years of having hummingbirds in our own yard we have never seen an actual nest … until today!  Of course this wasn’t in our yard … but it’s a hummingbird nest!  I climbed up on their stone wall to get a few shots … with the help of my other sister, Nancy, holding me steady!  It wasn’t in the best location for a clear shot but I managed a few good photos … please see Extra photo. Too bad there were no hummingbird babies in it.  I think she was just building it getting it ready for use.   
 
It took us almost an hour to drive back to mom’s as we went a different way but we were back shortly after 8:00 pm.  Since we leave for home tomorrow we got some of our packing done tonight in order to save time tomorrow morning.  It’s always sad to leave as I don’t know when I’ll be back to California again.  And I don’t see my mom traveling to the East coast any time soon. 
 
Home tomorrow …
 
Backblipped: July 24, 2022 … about time, too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.