One day at a time

By MikeSlade

View

We are leaving our campsite after three nights away near Barnard Castle.
It is very quiet here. Just the rustling of hedges and trees in the wind, and somewhere high above a tube of thin metal makes its way to who knows.
We are planning to meet up with our old friends Chris and Pat. I’ve known Chris from 11 years old. We were best man for each other many years ago, 34 for me, getting on for 40 for him. I shall test his memory. We are still married to the same woman - if you see what I mean. When we meet it’s like we’ve never been away. After a walk we are having lunch at the Rose and Crown in Romaldkirk in Teesdale. I’ve looked at the menu online. How can a steak pie and chips cost £20? It had better be good, with shortcrust pastry, not flakey, and not served in a deep dish. Sorry, but standards in pie production are important. I shall check with them before placing my order! Then home and probably straight out again for a Monday Shield bowls match. It’s going to be a lovely day.
The view through the fly screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.