Standing comfortably?

For some reason, this bench always makes me think of 'The Luggage' in the Terry Pratchett Discworld books.... an ominous item, many-legged, and not one you would want to have chasing you.

It's not a fair comparison, really, since this lovely bench makes me smile every time I pass it.  Until a few years ago there was another, on the opposite side of the road, with wonderful duck legs and feet. That one was eventually vandalised and (I think) the lovely legs were stolen. Ah well. The greyhound legs have survived and today I saw two hot and bothered road-menders taking a well-earned break on the bench.

I think my brain is transporting me to any available subject that enables me to screen out the sheer vileness of the Tory party leadership contest.  Even Tories are commenting now on how petty and destructive it is.  Meanwhile I learn, from today's BBC news, that the already-depleted international aid budget is now frozen because - surprise? - all the support going to Ukraine is seen as likely to push it into a big overspend. I don't think there is anyone on the bridge these days, as we speed towards a cluster of icebergs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.