Packet

After work it was Tai Chi time again.  I’m sure I could use the train journey more effectively than I do because I generally end up mulling the day and I’d be better trying to get into the right headspace for Tai Chi. Still, as always, I don’t remember the moves but I do enjoy the class.  At present I don’t tend to stay for the ‘tea break’ (which is the more social element of the class), preferring to get home for dinner. Tonight, that was getting home to get changed to head out.

The reasonably recent arrival to the Raynes Park shopping experience, The Raw Deli, has upped and moved to bigger premises and revamped itself as the Raw Bistro and Bar.  I am not sure if the ‘raw’ is meant to signify anything special or is just a name. We’d arranged to meet our Norwegian friends again tonight. They were eating in the next door Indian but had thought it a good idea to meet us in the outdoor seating next door. 

We arrived as Cheryl was finishing dinner so we found a table in the bar.  Having had very little to eat - and discovering that the bistro’s kitchen has closed - I asked what bar snacks were available and was pointed to a fridge full of South African dried meats. This sausage was recommended. 

Biltong is my experience of this kind of food and I expected something quite chewy, resembling Biltong. But this sausage was not that. It was a delicious dried, I think, meat sausage but didn’t have the overly cured or tough dried texture that comes with things like Biltong.  I enjoyed it so much that when Cheryl joined us we had another packet. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.