Hive of Activity

A brief visit to Risley Moss this afternoon. I think I was the only one I saw not accompanied by a dog.

A large rotten tree fell earlier in the year, and a big cavity has been occupied by honeybees. I always have a look when I visit and today there was a definite hum in the air, the bees were very active. There is a bee in the image which is larger than the others. I wonder if it’s a queen and they are preparing to swarm. Best not to get too close.

The Moss seems drier, water levels are down and on the “ Mini-Moss” a lot of bracken has encroached. It was a dry winter, and it’s been a dry year notwithstanding rainy days ( including the last five days). Nevertheless, by the side of the pond near the visitor centre damselflies we’re doing what damselflies do at this time of year (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.