Look Out

By chrisf

Lunch for One

Hospital day today, and a long one as it turned out (but all fine).

After spending some time with J I travelled into Liverpool and the north docks, to visit the enormous Tobacco Warehouse (it is claimed to be the world’s largest brick building), and which is a hub for the Liverpool Bienniel. The whole “show” is curated by Khanyisile Mbongwe on a theme of “the sacred return of lost things”. A lot of emphasis on colonialism and the black experience, appropriate for this city with its links to the slave trade and empire. Between now and September I’ll try and visit some of the other venues.

Having had a look at the artworks and the spaces that house them I walked down the dock road. I enjoy good urban walks and there was lots to see. Everton FC’s new stadium under construction at Bramley Moore Dock. The fascinating 10 Streets area, with lots of old run down buildings being used as studio spaces, cheap rents for creatives I guess. The regeneration that’s happened since I was last in the area. A big crew filming something which is apparently a secret (it involved a pretty spectacular dive, see extra). And then all the usual hustle and bustle around Pierhead and the Albert Dock. I took loads of photographs.

I returned to have lunch at the Titanic Hotel (a converted old warehouse), overlooking Stanley Dock with the Tobacco Warehouse on the other side of the water. I was joined by two very noisy peregrine falcons, who were perched towards the top of the Warehouse - to them, it’s a cliff face.

Rejoined J mid afternoon and helped her complete two crosswords.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.