Thistle down

Thankfully, today brings better weather. The sun is shining - ideal for a walk around the reserve at Conwy. Once more, I’m shocked by the levels of the water in the ponds and lakes, and bird life is generally limited to the tidal estuary, hard to see due to the low tide. 

I’m searching - yet again - for butterflies, but my sightings are limited to a couple of very flighty spotted woods. It’s a similar story in terms of dragonflies and damsels - conspicuous only by their absence. 

But in the hedgerows there is movement; goldfinches feeding on the thistles. Thistle down, detached by greedy beaks, is floating in the breeze, catching in leaves and blades of grass. I find one seed head caught up in a spider’s web - my blip today. 

And there’s a collage of goldfinch shots in extras, the vegetation and strong breezes making clear shots difficult. 

Apart from this, it’s been a busy day. Another visit to the dentist’s - this time, thankfully, my replacement crown has actually arrived and so is fitted with much less trauma than my last visit. Then there’s a delightful chamber music concert as part of the Conwy Music Festival. There’s been little time for blips, but I’ll catch up …. 

Thanks to Osuzanna for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.