GET OFF YOUR HORSE ....................

.....and drink your milk - this phrase was always associated with The Duke, John Wayne, however he never actually said it!!

ORTON

A really lovely morning this morning.    I had another bad night with very little sleep - again no partiular reason just sleep woudln't come!!!!  Anyway I decided I needed to go out so I decided not to go far an go to Orton.  I haven't been for some time so thought I would  pay it a visit.

Sadly the cafe at Kennedy's, the chocolate factory is no more so I though I would try the Orton Scar Cafe just up the road.  It is a lovely place and if you want cake be warned, they are all home made and all huge - I chose the smallest pne I could find and then bought some of it home for hubby.  Lovely people in there too, so friendly and helpful - I will be back.

Orton is a lovely little village in The Howgills.  I parked up and said to the air "hello Into The Hills" in the general directin of where most of the houses are.

I then had a good 2 hour walk around the village.  I spent some time in the church and around the grounds.  It is soooo peaceful and quiet there.  A few tourists around but not many.

There was so much bird life it was lovely to see.  I also saw either a wild hare or a wild rabbit in the church grounds, it didn't stay long enough for me to see it's ears or to take a photo.

I thenk walked around a few areas that I hadn't explored before, walked along by The Beck , sometimes putting a good sput on simply to exercise my legs. 

I chatted to one of the locals, a lady tidhing her garden, she was sooo friendly and lovley to talk to.  Like everywhere, there are qiuite a few holiday lets, but thankfully the residents outweight these and I hope it stays taht way.  

Orton has a lovely little shop, one cafe, Kennedy's Fine Chocolates Factory, 2 chuches, a village hall and a pub, amongst  other things.  It also has many walks around the Howgills, right from the village.  I went past the Methodist church which had bunting up and there was some onsiderable activity going on insidde the church, which was lovely to hear.

I saw this horse with the All Saints Chufch behind it on my way back to my car so that is my blip for today.  I took many photos, a lot inside the church,  because although I'm not particularly religious I enjoyvisiting churches.  You get a lot of local history there and today the light was just right and the shdows formed by the wonerful stained glass windows was delightful.

On my walk around I notice a couple stripping off the cladding of the house that used to be The Waverley Temperance Hotel to reveal beautiful original stonework underneath.  It's goig to look gofgeous when they've finished.  

That's all for today - as I said I will post a couple of collages once I've had chance to prepare them.

Thank you for dropping by and for all your wonderful, hearts,, stars and comments.  All of which I thoroughly enjoy reading and are greatly appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.