Capital adventures

By marchmont

W1, Bangsar

Today was an odd day, full of things that went awry. I was woken about 1 by the work across the road at Gardens School, sounded like angle grinding and maybe concrete pouring.  However, it meant I was up to see Olivia in her school uniform but today's was sports so it was her sports uniform.  There will need to be a repeat tomorrow for the normal version.  They left, as usual, at 6.40, still dark.

Another awryness - HM is on her side.  A Bliphoto, not me. 

I thought about going to Publika, or maybe even Uniqlo at Bangsar Village but I couldn't be bothered.  I don't need anything and I've never enjoyed just walking round shops.  As an alternative suggested to #1 son we go downstairs for lunch.  By the time we got out the lift it was bucketing so he went back for the umbrella and of course by the time he came back it had more or less stopped.

We had just got to B Lab, not even sat down when the fans, and all the rest of the electricity went off. Power cut! We sat for a bour 30 minutes in the hope it would be restored - glass of iced water - but no.  So home we went and of course had to walk up 9 flights of stairs.  The power cut was quite extensive, across, as it turned out, a large swathe of Malaysia.  We sat on the balcony making plans to cope but luckily it came back on relatively quickly.  It was a fire in a sub station in Johor (which is next to Singapore, 4 hours away).  This is the most exciting thing to have happened since the murder (I didn't mention that did I?) 2 weeks ago in 
Amarin Kiara, behind the Verve.  A hit and apparently they have nabbed the perpetrators, from Ipoh. 

I did quite a bit of sewing today and then my first meeting at 5.  Seemed to go ok.  I think I was quite intelligent.  The second meeting was more problematic.  There was an issue with Teams at their end and started over half an hour late and almost 7.  I was flagging, and hungry (having not had much lunch due to the power cut) by this stage.

We finished at 7.30 and I headed out to meet #2 son.  We Grabbed to Bangsar, a European/Asian fusion restaurant and bar.  Ladies night so gin cocktails for RM10 + taxes £2.25).  I had 2.  We had a tasty meal and J, A's friend joined us for drinks.  I paid.  Ouch.  Then across the road to Healy Mac's for another drink and a lot of UK politics discussion. Then it was a Grab home and I crept in just before midnight.  

It was actually a good day! The extra is dawn over Mont Kiara. 


Edit: Frustrating issues with a sideways loaded blip.  Sorted it by deleting and re-loading.  An example of things being awry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.