Shooting range

One of the things the birthday girl Susan wanted to do whilst we are in Las Vegas was to go to a shooting range. Not my cup of tea but each to their own. We’d sources a site which did several different packages so after a late breakfast we got organised and ready for our 1pm pickup by humvee.

I was a wee bit confused when a jeep type army vehicle turned up as I’d expected more of a limo (my mistake!) but the short ride in the sunshine brought us to the range.

I was designated the photographer and videographer and given the same safety briefing as the others and supplied with earplugs and ear defenders. As my glasses have plastic lenses I didn’t need the goggles they were given to wear.

Susan loved it as she was beaming from ear to ear and as a bystander it was interesting to watch and I didn’t feel like I kissed out on not participating. I didn’t realise the shell casings would come out of the back of the guns so was caught unawares the first couple of times when they hit my legs. They gave her a free shot of a very large single shot gun (which was huge) and the blast made her hair fly up, the video is quite impressive. The others enjoyed their sessions, Mr PHL now considering joining a shooting club in the UK having not held a gun since he left the army in 1986.

Shooting finished and after a wander round the collection of tanks, helicopters and other old equipment we were taken back to the strip. We had a wander around the Linq promenade and some of us had a frozen Baileys slushie (not me) as we headed back to the hotel to get ready for dinner.

We walked over to Caesar’s palace and had dinner at an Italian restaurant, Trevi, which has a replica fountain beside it. It’s an indoor restaurant in a row of shops but the ceiling is painted to look like you’re outside so it’s a bit disconcerting.

Quick go on the slot machines and frighteningly quickly I’d lost my stake bar the princely sun if 5 cents!

Back blipped Thursday 28th for Wednesday 20th. I’m so behind!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.