PANIC ALERT!

I have to stay in today because we are expecting a parcel of books from Guernsey - an early Christmas present for Mr. HCB - but of course, he has gone off to Cheltenham for the last day of the four day cricket match, so he’s not here - BUT, his mobile is still here!!!

I was about to settle down and read a chapter of my book before I started cleaning in the conservatory - and there are so many flies and bits of fluff from seedheads in there that it does need to be done - when I spotted Mr. HCB’s mobile phone on the table between our two reclining chairs.  

I did have a mild panic and thought that perhaps I should catch a bus to Cheltenham, find the cricket ground and give him his mobile phone, but then spoke sternly to myself and said that years ago we didn’t have mobiles and we still survived!  I did wonder how far he got before he realised he didn't have his mobile phone, but I will have to wait until he gets back this evening to find out.  I just hope he remembers I need the car to go out to Home Group at 8 o'clock - and I can't even text to remind him!

That said, if we had a telephone, we would have known our number, so if there was an emergency, then we would ring that number from a telephone box, wouldn’t we?  However, we no longer have a landline, so now what?

I’m sure that Mr. HCB wouldn’t have a clue what my mobile number is, despite hearing me say it a thousand times when I am doing any business on the phone.  So what should I do?  

I think I have three options:

1.  I could worry myself silly all day, or
2.  I could pray that there will be no emergencies, or
3.  I could just forget about Mr. HCB, hope he has a lovely day and get on with cleaning the conservatory.

After a moment’s thought, I have decided to go with Option 3 with Option 2 thrown in and might even read a chapter of my book once the cleaning is finished - scrub that - a cup of coffee and a chapter before I start!

“There are two types of panicking: 
     standing still and not saying a word, 
          and leaping all over the place 
               babbling anything 
                    that comes into your head.”  
Lemony Snicket

Or like me - just get it out by writing about it on Blip!!  
Mrs. HCB

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.