HAPPY CHRISTMAS X 2 & HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO MR. HCB!

When you’re retired, if there is something you need or want and if you can afford it, you buy it, you don’t wait for Christmas or birthdays – because at our age you never know if you’re going to see the next one, so you may as well enjoy things while you can!

One of my Blip Friends, Sue Le Feuvre, who lives in Guernsey, had told me about a book she bought earlier this month entitled “The People’s Messenger” written by Louis Guillemette, who was actually the States Supervisor in Guernsey and her boss.  Of course, this immediately interested Mr HCB, who already has a very good library of Channel Islands books, but he is not averse to having more.  I thought this one might make a good gift for him so when I showed him the website, he was delighted and said jokingly “I’ll have it as an early Christmas present!”

Again, at our age, we have most things that we need so I decided to take him at his word and buy the book but then he looked at the website and saw another one he liked the look of - so I ordered both of them. However, a bit later, looking at the website again, he saw yet another one.

This resulted in me emailing Steve at Blue Ormer Publishing to see if I could add another book to the order to save paying two lots of postage. Although it was the weekend, Steve sorted it out;  I was impressed with the service I received and Mr HCB now has a Christmas present for 2022, a birthday present for 2023 and a Christmas present also for 2023. Just hope I remember and don’t buy him another present - we need to be decluttering not getting more stuff - but then I don’t believe books count as “stuff” do they?

So thanks to Sue I don’t have to worry about what to get Mr HCB until his birthday in 2024, but being kind-hearted, I might buy him the occasional Wispa bar, which is one of his favourites!

You might like to know that all was well yesterday - Mr. HCB had a great mobile-free day at cricket and although his team lost, he said it was an exciting finish, but he said he will make sure he takes his phone in future.  I enjoyed my day too and have to say the newly summer-cleaned conservatory and lounge look good. 

“Collect books, even if you don't plan 
     on reading them right away; 
          nothing is more important 
               than an unread library.”
John Waters

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.