Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Highfield Autumn

Highfield boutique winery is located in a most picturesque area. Perched on a small hill, it commands sweeping views to the north and the Richmond Range. There are magnificent vistas of vineyards to be seen from the Tuscan style tower . This tower was designed by a well known New Zealand architect, Sir Michael Fowler who was resident in Marlborough for a number of years. Sir Michael was a former Mayor of Wellington and there is a large cultural centre including the Town Hall in that city named after him. An honour indeed for a real Kiwi character. Sir Michael is now living back in Wellington and is currently enjoying painting and also holds a seat on the Wellington City Council.
We in Marlborough enjoyed knowing him while he lived here and I certainly appreciated his keen sense of humour and his contribution to life in our district.
I passed Highfield at lunchtime today on my way to the O'Connors at Brooksdale. I stopped and captured a few images.
But on my return late in the afternoon I noted that the light was much softer and more conducive to landscape photography. This called for another stop and more images. I subsequently scrapped the images I captured at mid-day.
Hence my blip for today celebrates Highfield in its autumn garb. A lovely autumn moment in time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.