Capital adventures

By marchmont

Watt a day

I was up early again, before 6.30. Checked my notes and then at 9.39 set off for Putrajaya.

Putrajaya is the administrative capital of Malaysia, a planned city, built round an artificial lake a bit like Canberra. It has a twin, Cyberjaya. I've driven round Cyberjaya many times and own over it but I've only been there once, 11 years ago for the civil wedding.

I started at the Botanic Garden. It was very quiet. Most of the time I saw nobody apart from gardeners, with noisy leaf blowers. Unfortunately I got caught in a tropical downpour before lunch as the sole diner in the fish restaurant. I had chicken!

Then quite a long Grab drive to the Heriot Watt campus. A beautiful setting beside the south end of the lake.

I was there 3 hours, talking and waffling. Turns out the Provost lives up the road in JK1.  Of course!

I came out just as the family drove in. After some photo ops we headed to Ayre-8 for something to eat. We had a pile of seafood (literally a pile) at She'll Out. No cutlery!

Outside there were illuminated rides and bubble making machines. The bridges are lit up and the reflections are beautiful. Putrajaya is very much a garden city with wide boulevards and cycleways. But it is mainly inhabited by civil servants, has no soul and emptied at the weekend.

The outcome will be what it will be, but whatever it is it was a positive and enjoyable experience. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.