Wild Wednesday ...

... Ruby-throated Hummingbird.

We haven't seen any hummingbirds since the seven day heat wave which stretched from last Tuesday to Monday of this week.  We were worried about them as we know that heat can be deadly to these tiny birds.  So I was so very happy to see this beautiful female at the zinnias this afternoon.  In fact, we actually saw two hummers at one point today so we feel very relieved that they survived the oppressive heat.  

As you can imagine I took lots of pictures of this one ... the other was seen whilst I was in the pool and the lighting was behind them both.  I've added another photo in the Extras but I really liked my main as it shows the pollen spraying up as she feeds.  Please be sure to view in gallery.

As I mentioned yesterday I've come down with a cold.  I really hate summer colds.  This is the first time I've been sick since my diabetes diagnosis and I didn't know what to expect.  Tonight got interesting and I considered going to the emergency room as my temperature rose to 103° F.  It was scary.  But in the end I simply kept track of my temp to make sure it didn't rise any higher.  Thankfully it didn't and by Thursday morning my fever had broken.  All is well today (Friday) except for a nagging cough and slight sore throat. 

Wild Wednesday lived up to it's name! Thanks to Cailleach keeping it wild!

Backblipped: July 29, 2022 ... only two days late. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.