My Photo Journal

By kimwilkie33

Tallest Waterfall

Today we visited Douglass Houghton Falls on Hammell Creek near the town of Lake Linden in Michigan’s Keweenaw Peninsula. It is Michigan’s tallest waterfall with a drop of 110 feet (34m). The waterfall is located in a deep gorge that is surrounded by sharp loose rock, and I could not get into a position where I could photograph the entire thing safely. This image shows the top of the falls where Hammell Creek begins its spectacular plunge into the valley below.

The trail leading to the waterfall was rocky and difficult. There were no benches along the way for rest, so a large rock at the end of the trail was a very welcome sight. I spent some time sitting there before viewing the falls. I included an image of my rock in the extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.