Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Steel Magnolias

These aren't magnolias but I really liked that movie and thought it would make a much cooler title than steel flowers. This is my entry for flower Friday. It's not exactly a rose or anything that may resemble a real flower. You work with what you have and make the best of it. That's a pretty good metaphor for life, I think, and it's what I try (and sometimes fail) to achieve.

Thanks for your continual hosting of this challenge, Anni. Eleven pages this week. Whew! I don't know how you do it. I barely got through four weeks of hosting mono Monday!

Not a lot going on today. Went out early (for me, early is 10:30) for breakfast - I had oatmeal. Then took a short walk in Desert Meadows Park. It is a lovely place, 4 times around is a mile. It's Friday, so I had my weekly blood draw and stopped at the bank on my way home.  Oh, also dropped into the Democrat Club looking for a Mark Kelly campaign sign to send to my friend in Washington State. I also had my last online therapy appointment, which really bummed me out. Now I have no therapist at all. It was my lawyers decision. I can't wait until my legal stuff is over so I can write about it. Ah, well.  It is what it is.

Maybe I accomplished more than I thought.


-----------------------------------------
Will Rogers, who died in a 1935 plane crash with his best friend, Wylie Post, was probably the greatest sage the USA has ever known. Here are some of his old anecdotes:

1. Never slap a man who's chewing tobacco.

2. Never kick a cow chip on a hot day.

3. There are two theories to arguing with a woman. Neither one works!

4. Never miss a good chance to shut up.

5. Always drink upstream from the herd.

6. If you find yourself in a hole, stop digging.

7. The quickest & only way to double your money, is to fold it and put it back into your pocket.

8. There are three kinds of men: The ones that learn by reading, the few who learn by observation, and the rest of them have to pee on the electric fence and find out for themselves.

9. Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment.

10. If you're riding' ahead of the herd, take a look back every now and then to make sure it's still there.

11. Lettin' the cat outta the bag is a whole lot easier'n puttin' it back.

12. After eating an entire bull, a mountain lion felt so good he started roaring. He kept it up until a hunter came along and shot him. The moral: When you're full of bull, keep your mouth shut.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.