Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Scenic Santa Ritas

I know that I promised mono Monday results today but that isn’t going to happen until tomorrow. Sorry.

I spent most of the day in a state of chill, going out to lunch, stopping at the nursery to wander and buy a plant and meandering up to Madera Canyon. Returning a borrowed feeder was a good excuse. I sat for a while listening to the music of Madera Creek, which was running for the first time in a couple of years.

Despite all of the problems the storms left in their wake, during my drive I was struck by the beauty it brought. There were yellow wildflowers along the road…and the green. Everything was so green.

I started noticing other things after I entered the park, especially the number of saplings and small trees that were thriving. I couldn’t drive slow enough to drink it all in. You can’t imagine how uplifting seeing massive stretches of green can be.

Green. Gorgeous, beautiful green. As far as the eye could see. For desert dwellers, it’s the stuff of dreams.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.