Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Zippy

I hadn't seen my little buddy for a while.  I'm sure he's been around, I just haven't been looking.  Many will recognize the Zipster but many of you won't, so a little background. I hanged my first hummingbird feeder in the autumn of 2012. I watched with an intense fervor waiting for a visitor. Finally, on the second day, I saw a hummingbird zip in for a drink and zip away just as quickly.  It took me a while to identify the species. I found that he was a Costa's hummingbird.  He had claimed his territory and remains extremely protective of it. I assume you can figure out how he got his name...
I also learned that Costa's hummingbirds are known more for their soaring than fluttering which explained the zipping in and the zipping out..  That was almost 9 years ago.  The average life expectancy for Zippy would have been about 5 years so I am under no illusions that this fella is my original little buddy.  By now, either he's either a son or grandson! But there's no doubt in my mind that Zippy's bloodline remains intact. So, Zippy he shall remain, now and forevermore.

I really like this portrait but am unsure whether it's in complete focus.  I literally have no glasses. All are in the process of being replaced which means I can't read, can't see mid-distances and my distance vision is rather poor.  I do still have my old prescription sunglasses so that I could at least make it around town (when it's bright enough).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.